[Skip to Content]

Freedom Township Board of Auditors

Freedom Township Board of Auditors

Each Township of the Second Class elects three auditors.  At each municipal election, one auditor is elected to serve for a term of six years.   Auditors must be registered voters of the Township.   They may not be employed by the Township or hold any other elective or appointive office in the Township.  Auditors must have resided continuously in the Township for at least one year immediately prior to their election.  Vacancies in the office of auditor are filled by the Board of Supervisors.  The appointed successor serves until a new auditor is elected at the next municipal election coming at least 60-days after the vacancy occurs. Auditors taking office after June 12, 2024, are paid at the rate of $18.00 for each hour necessarily employed in discharging their duties of office. 

The auditors meet annually, at the place of meeting of the Supervisors, on the day following the day fixed for the organization of Township Supervisors.  They organize by electing a chair and a secretary. Two auditors constitute a quorum.  As is permitted in the Second-Class Township Code, Freedom Township hires a Pennsylvania certified accountant to conduct the Township’s yearly audits; therefore, the Board of Auditors solely set the compensation of working Supervisors.  When supervisors are employed as road masters, laborers, township secretaries or treasurers, their compensation is fixed by the Board of Auditors.  Compensation includes salary and wages. The auditors also approve the mileage allowance to be paid to the Supervisors for use of their vehicles on Township business.  

2024 Working Supervisor Compensation: 

  • $30.00 per hour
  • Mileage: 2024 Federal Rate

Board of Auditors




Mary Buchheit
Elaine Floyd
Amy Naill

Term End Date

December 31, 2027
December 31, 2025
December 31, 2025

Meeting Records